Adultlandia

Year 1.

Photo Apr 16, 10 41 07 PM
Detroit from 72 floors above.

Photo Aug 16, 11 32 55 AM
Moving out – Take 5.

4 apartments, 3 cities, 2 states, 1 summer in Italy. And I’m still not quite settled in. Half of me lives in a storage unit in Michigan still, though I hold no permanent address. I guess home for me is Texas; that’s where my family and closest friends live. But I only visit. Maybe home is Boston. That’s where I mostly learned [who I was]. I still get the “welcome back” vibes when I hop on the red line from the airport. But I can’t return. In fact, my old dorm room is soon to be demolished.

Photo Oct 16, 4 10 36 PM
Dropped a few things off in Texas.

So now I’m here. Chicago, Illinois. Sitting in a café in Wicker Park. (SF and Brooklyn’s love child.)

This past year was the first of true self-dependence. No family near me, no institution behind me. I traded a class schedule for a 9-5, a bit of a tough adjustment at first. I bought a Mini, took 2 road trips and countless flights to see friends in California, Massachusetts, DC, New York, and Florida. (I was coming to terms with having chosen to move to the Mid-West for work.) Now that I’ve had some time to reflect, I can say transitioning into an adult is more about being open-minded and rolling with the punches. And reorganizing – your friends [new and old], time, and money [ahem, bills].

Cooking
Why, yes, I’ve learned how to cook in my post-work free time.
Rock Climbing
And I became a climber.
Photo Oct 10, 1 48 29 PM
But I’ll always be an explorer.

I’m still learning. Still growing. Figuring out my new priorities, while keeping in touch with who I am and where I came from. I really love my job now, though that’s not all there is to adulthood.

Photo Oct 18, 5 22 57 PM
New backyard.

I don’t know where next is, but I’m going to allow myself to be here. For as long as I need to be.

Chicago view from my apartment.

* My writing’s a bit rusty; this one’s all over the place. [Pun intended.] *

Leave a Reply

