Bexley Hall

Alice: But I don’t want to go among mad people.

The Cat: Oh, you can’t help that. We’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.

Alice: How do you know I’m mad?

The Cat: You must be. Or you wouldn’t have come here.

I didn’t always live in Bexley Hall; I tried out a few other dorms at MIT before getting it right. Mostly I was trying to figure out what I believed; it took me 4 semesters to finally realize it doesn’t matter what I believe as long as I am me and I don’t get in the way of other people’s me’s. I just wanted to be free and live some where I could be.

Though intimidating at first, Bexley Hall is very nurturing. People love you like they love their cats. And by the end even you will want a cat. But the housing dean sets the limit at 4, which is unfortunate if you ever fall in love with Lucy at the MSPCA. (You can’t have her by the way, I will save her!) If you don’t upset the cleaning staff, you might just get away with a pet dog. At Bexley, you will never go hungry if you check your email. And I find that its one of the only places on campus where people can be real and not sugarcoat things. (If your suite mates are freshman who haven’t discovered that their moms aren’t going to come wash their dishes for them, it’s okay to call them out on it.)

People are always up to something…painting, procrastinating, hanging out, sharing. I would describe it much like communes in Bologna, Italy during the 1970s when the university students took over an old building and hacked together radio ALICE to rebel against society, stream underground jazz, feel-good music, and rock, as well as discuss art, politics, and why the world can be a messed up place. (Typical college things.)

Sometimes there are outings to Maine, the Boston Symphony, and once in a blue moon, the Blue Man Group.

What I’ve learned to appreciate most is the way Bexley comes together to fight off authorities that try to cramp our living style. I figure, if I spend most of my time at MIT doing psets, studying, and not sleeping, can’t I just have a free space to think, eat, and be with a couple of crazy kids?

Sure, we’ll get rowdy, start flamewars, and cover ourselves in paint every now and then, which might make others suspicious and uncomfortable. But its a mutual understanding that to have a good living experience in Bexley you just need to be open-minded and considerate. (Cause no one likes it when you take their stuff, eat their food, or hog all the laundry machines.)

I love my quirky friends. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

“Bexley Hall – Where you’re free to become who you already are”

3 Comments Add yours

  1. itssrijana says:

    you love painted ppl ..u should cm to nepal or india during holi -the festival of colours

  2. Cecily says:

    Ironic. Looked up MIT Bexley to find out more information about it shutting down, and lo and behold, my little already has a blog post about it!

    It figures.

    Sorry to hear that the administration wants Bex to close down, but that doesn’t mean you can’t change it! I hear the Bexley residents are quite rebellious…

    😉

  3. Reblogged this on Animal and commented:
    fghhj

Leave a Reply

